52 Week Challenge –Week 11–Luck of the Irish– James McManigle

James McManigle 1782-1856

The theme of Week 11 of the 52 Ancestors in 52 weeks challenge was “Luck of the Irish”. When the list of themes came out and I saw week 11 I was almost positive that I did not have an ancestor that was Irish. My husband’s dad’s side of the family is full of Irishmen and women; so I considered writing about a branch from his tree. I decided to give my tree one more look and found that my fourth great grandfather, James McManigle, was born in Ireland.

James McManigle was born in County Down, Ireland, in 1782. It is believed that he came to America at the age of three. He lived in Westmoreland, Pennsylvania until around 1840 when he then moved to Jefferson County Pennsylvania to live out the remainder of his life. James married Susanna Baeker in 1810 in Westmoreland, Pennsylvania. They had eleven children, 5 girls and four boys. Rebecca, John, Esther, William, Robert, Alexander (my second great grandfather), Christina, Susanna, Solomon, and Elizabeth.

James joined the Mt Tabor Church on May 18, 1844. He died on February 20, 1856, and was buried in Mt. Tabor Cemetery in Section B, Row 1.

I really do not know much about James. The few other people that I have found researching him also do not know any more about him than what I have written today. There are so many variations of the surname McManigle, I’m sure that is why it is so hard to find information on this branch of my tree.

Leave a comment

Filed under 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks

Leave a comment